For people suffering from Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, its importance to watch what you eat. Many other people follow a gluten-free diet simply to help feel less bloated or perhaps lose a little weight. If you don’t have gluten issue and don’t suffer from any gastrological issues, should your supplements be gluten-free? To answer that question, let’s get a better look at gluten and how it impacts your body.
What is gluten?
According to the Celiac Disease Foundation website, “gluten” is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale – a cross between wheat and rye. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected. The three most common are found in wheat, barley and rye.
What foods contain gluten?
Most people would assume that gluten only exists in grain-based foods such as cereals, breads and other baked goods, but did you know you can actually find gluten in:
- baked goods
- salad dressings
- food coloring
- Brewer’s Yeast
You can see why it can be a struggle to avoid gluten; it’s in more places than you think!
What does gluten-free mean?
Gluten does not mean low carb, a common perception among people who may go gluten-free to lose weight. Gluten-free simply means avoiding foods, such as the ones listed above, and finding other alternatives that do not contain gluten. Fruits, vegetables, dairy, and lean proteins are all naturally gluten-free.
Supplements: another place gluten can hide
Individuals following a gluten-free diet may be susceptible to nutrient deficiencies. In those with celiac disease, gluten damages the small intestine, leading to malabsorption of nutrients. For many, that means turning to supplements to get the nutrients you need, but not so fast! Many supplements use “fillers,” which may contain gluten. The source of the filler may be wheat, or it may be a gluten-free source such as corn. Do you really know what’s in your supplements?
Why you should choose a gluten-free supplement
As mentioned above, many supplements use fillers; many which may contain gluten. As a matter of fact, the Gluten-Free Society investigated the presence of gluten in twenty one common dietary supplements from the national market The results showed the presence of gluten in 23.8% of the investigated samples which included(vitamins, minerals, plant extracts, probiotics supplements, lactoferrin, propolis supplements. To ensure that you’re getting the purest, most effective, whole food supplement, it’s a good idea to look for a supplement that is gluten-free, such as Sea Veg®. Sea Veg® is tested, raw, and 100% GLUTEN FREE. Even if you don’t need to follow a gluten-free diet, looking for a supplement that uses few fillers, and none that contain gluten, will only enhance the benefits that you’ll get from the supplement.
People choose a gluten-free lifestyle for many reasons, but when it comes to your supplement, your best bet is to choose one that is gluten-free for your overall health.